Home » Mom's Posts » Sitting by the fire – ah autumn

Sitting by the fire – ah autumn

Autumn is one of my favorite times of year.  The leaves are turning beautiful shades, even after Irene’s fury, and there is a wonderful chill in the air that beckons you to sit by a cozy fire.  It is also a fun time for my daughter. She enjoys visiting the apple orchard and hiking in the Green Mountains.  

 As we stand on top of a mountain (granted a small one) it never ceases to amaze me how beautiful Vermont is and how lucky we are to live here.  I only wish these Autumn days would last a little bit longer.  But we all know the snow will be flying soon. 

As I sit here by the fire, I am working on my talk for the Retired Teachers of Orange County group.  I hope they like what I have to say.  I hope that I can enlist their help in getting the word out about Apples For Teachers and the 4Rs Project. 

I have also found myself drawn to the 99% movement that is growing in this country.  I want to hear what Occupy Wall Street and their supporters have to say and see how this may fit into the goals of Apples For Teachers.  With the push to privatize public education and the rhetoric surrounding the education reform movement I think that a closer look at the influence of money and corporate involvement in public education is worth looking into further.  I plan to attend a rally in Burlington this Sunday with my daughter.  I’ll let you know what I learn.

Take care.

Leave a Reply

