Home » Mom's Posts » CARPE DIEM

CARPE DIEM

Websters defines carpe diem as “the enjoyment of the pleasures of the moment without concern for the future” but the Urban Dictionary’s definition is more to my liking “To put aside all differences, all fears, all worries, and just go for it. To make the most out of that part of time.”

I have been thinking a lot about where I fit in this existence, what am I meant to do when I grow up if you will. I know that I “fit” with those interested in and inspired by education. I know that in my daily life, I am very good at what I do, but do not contribute much to the conversation related to my field. I know that when I write about education, I do have something to add to the conversation, and that people listen. I “fit”.

I have been given an opportunity to contribute directly to our local education efforts. Members of the school board and administration have approached me to join the board for a 3-yr term. I was asked once before 3 years ago, but I did not pursue the nomination. I have been given another chance to seize the day.

I believe that I have something to contribute and a perspective that is unique to the board. Yet, I have a family that I need to connect with and not short change of my time and attention. But, I know that Public Education is where my heart is leading me and that the longest journeys begin with the first step. So I am back at the beginning, “To put aside all differences, all fears, all worries, and just go for it. To make the most out of that part of time.”

Leave a Reply

